How is $25,000 lien removed when home is sold?

Home Forums Purchase Program How is $25,000 lien removed when home is sold?

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    debbiek55
    Participant

I’m a real estate agent listing a home that was purchased through the NACA program. The homeowner has documentation indicating the $25,000 has been released pending the sale of the home.
    What concerns me is the $25,000 lien is rolled into the home loan. How is the $25,000 subtracted from the loan for a payoff?
    Thank you
    D—- K——–

• This topic was modified 6 years, 7 months ago by TTrumble.
    kmjatl
    Participant

So you’re making payments on an extra $25,000?

The (filed at the courthouse) lien documents I have seen do not appear to state a dollar amount.

rashad3000
    Participant

It’s a “silent” lien.

debbiek55
    Participant

Then why was $25,000 added to the mortgage loan?
    Homeowner’s payoff will be $25,000 higher than it should be.
    Purchase price of home: $135,000, orignal loan amount $168,000 (closing costs, etc. included)

debbiek55
    Participant

So the payoff for the loan when we get it under contract will be based on $168,000 and not the $135,000 purchase price?

kmjatl
    Participant

This is really a question for Tim Trumble.

@debbiek55
    what’s on the HUD-1? Does the owner still have access to their web file? I bet it’s there.

I just looked up a few recent NACA sales in my area, and I’m not seeing Security Deeds that much higher than the purchase price (online courthouse records and realtor.com are very convenient).

My understanding is the lien is to keep the homes owner occupied and keep investors out. Probably a condition of the banks’ providing funding.

• This reply was modified 6 years, 7 months ago by TTrumble.
    kmjatl
    Participant
    TTrumble

Hello debbiek55,